Quote Me On This

You know folks, there are plenty of things I dislike in this world. Like negative introductions to paragraphs. Whatever happened to opening a paragraph with something optimistic, like: “You know folks, there are plenty of things I really enjoy in this world”? Let’s try this again.


You know folks, there are plenty of things I really enjoy in this world. However, one thing I do not enjoy is being asked for a quote that I somehow feels reflects who I am, where I came from, my beliefs, my values, my life. How am I expected to take someone else’s words and contextualize them in my own life to reflect my personal thoughts?

Well, turns out it’s not so hard. As a matter of fact, for no other reason than procrastination, I thought I’d share with you a favourite quote of mine, from a favourite author of mine. While I’m far from the first person to identify with Hunter S. Thompson (Johnny Depp, anyone?), his writing heavily influenced the way I write and look at the world. I have nothing but praise for the Gonzo bastard, and I wanted to share with you a personal favourite quote of his, which is one of the few quotes I’ve ever come across from anyone that I felt I could identify with.

Enjoy, and feel free to share any quotes that get you going, one way or another.

“First, I do not live from orgy to orgy, as I might have made you believe. I drink much less than most people think, and I think much more than most people would believe. I am quite sincere about some of the things which people take very lightly, and almost insultingly unconcerned about some of the things which people take most seriously. In short, I am basically antisocial: certainly not to an alarmingly degree, but just more so than I appear to be.

“And finally, the more I try to explain myself, the more apparent it becomes that I’m not doing a very good job of it.”

– Hunter S. Thompson, October 17, 1957, The Proud Highway: Saga Of A Desperate Southern Gentleman, 1955-67


Leave a Reply

